Skip to content

Best Ever: Lasgna Roll-ups

February 21, 2012

 

Hello World!

What started as a random rummage through a cedar chest led to finding a very small booklet of recipes written in beautiful script by my paternal grandmother, Florence North Stewart. I have preserved this booklet and now I feel my grandmother has given me the inspiration to launch a blog with some of my favourite recipes I can share with you.

I have been cooking since I was very young and enjoy it more and more every year. Sometimes it’s my therapy. I know when I’m not cooking I’m either pretty busy with something going on or sometimes I’m just not feeling too creative, so when I am cooking I know I’m in a pretty happy state.

I like to cook and I like to experiment in the kitchen. I find classic recipes and then doctor them a bit. I believe that you can alter your ingredients to your own preference, so when it calls for just a certain amount of herbs or garlic or tomatoes, you should feel free to adjust those ingredients to your liking. Most recipes I find too bland. In our household we like things spicey, hot, and full of flavour! And with the freshest ingredients possible.

I have used several recipes over and over and tend to morph them each time into something a little better each time. That’s the fine art of creating a good meal and of building your repertoire as a cook in your kitchen.

And, I do believe good meals, good cooking comes from the heart, so serve every meal with kindness

 and enjoy!

Yours, in fine meals for family and friends,

Jilly

Best Ever: Lasagna Roll-ups

 

Ingredients

2 each Spolombo’s hot Italian sausage
(or 4-5 Jacksonville hot Italian sausages)
2 Tbs. olive oil
1 finely chopped onion
2 small tins tomato paste
1 medium can herbed tomato chunks
or 4 chopped fresh as possible Romano tomatoes
1 -1 ½ c. water
2 – 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
4-6 white mushrooms, chopped
2 Tsp. organic Italian blend seasoning, if available. The oregano in an organic blend is truly heady. If not, regular Italian seasoning is fine.
1Tsp. (more) oregano
1 Tsp. dried basil or
4-6 leaves fresh basil, chopped
2 sugar cubes
¼ c. red wine
Pinch of nutmeg
I medium tomato, sliced fine. Dress with basil, salt and olive oil.

Remove the sausage from the casing by splitting open the casing and scraping out the sausage meat. Sauté in olive oil with garlic and onion, crumbling the sausage meat. Pour off excess fat. Add tomato paste, tomato chunks, water, herbs, sugar cubes, mushrooms, red wine and nutmeg. Simmer for 20 – 30 minutes, allowing sauce to reduce, stirring occasionally.

Spinach Cheese Filling

I package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained well
1 500 g. container ricotta cheese
1 ball mozzarella cheese, shredded
1 egg slightly beaten
½ tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
1 garlic clove finely chopped
¼ c. parmesan cheese

12-14 lasagne noodles, cooked to al dente (add a couple extra in case any of them splits in the cooking)
Need: large baking dish 11” x 14”

Directions

In a medium bowl, combine spinach, ricotta cheese, parmesan cheese, egg, garlic, salt, pepper and mix well.
Drain lasagne noodles, rinse with cool water, & arrange hanging over a colander.
Spinach cheese filling should fill 12 noodles.
Spread ~ ⅓ – ½ c. filling on each lasagne noodle; roll up. Place the rolled noodles seam side down in a large baking dish – 4 across, 3 deep. Pour the meat sauce over the lasagne rolls. Top with mozzarella cheese and a sprinkling of parmesan.
Bake at 350 ˚ for 30 -35 minutes covered with foil until heated through and cheese just begins to bubble. Remove foil, spread tomato slices along length of dish, drizzle with a little olive oil and sprinkle with basil. Return to oven ~ 10 mins. Serves 4-6.
Accompaniments: bowl of green beans, topped with butter and dill; deconstructed Caesar salad; fresh Italian or French bread topped with butter, chopped garlic and a sprinkle of parsley.
A bottle of good red wine is a must.
Serve with kindness. Enjoy!

From → Recipes

4 Comments
  1. Sally permalink

    This looks great! A really useful recipe.

  2. Gloria permalink

    That sure looks yummy!

    • Hi Gloria – Thanks for checking out my blog! I’m developing it bit by bit. Check out my latest. I’ll get to some salads suitable for Florida soon:)

  3. Thanks for dropping by to my blog, Sally. Check out some of my latest. I love to cook and I love to write up the recipes I have developed. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

